- The applicant must appear in person at the Jackson County Sheriffs Department in Jackson Minnesota.
- The applicant must have taken an authorized firearms training course within one year prior to the application.
- The applicant must present a completed application, signed and dated, on the date presented.
- The applicant must present the original certificate of completed authorized firearms training along with a legible copy. Applicant must also present a current, valid driver’s license, state identification card or the photo page of their passport along with a legible copy. If renewing, the current permit along with a legible copy must be presented.
- CASH or MONEY ORDERS are accepted. No personal checks or credit cards are accepted.
- The fee for a new permit is $100.
- The fee for a renewal is $75.
- The Permit to Carry a Handgun expires 5 years after the issue date.
What are the requirements for getting a permit to carry?
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Must complete an application form
- Must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Minnesota Statute 624.714
- Must not be listed in the criminal gang investigation system
- Must be a resident of the county from which you are requesting a permit, if you reside in Minnesota. Non-residents may apply to any Minnesota county sheriff.
- Must provide certificate of completed authorized firearms training. Training by a certified instructor must be completed within one year of an original or renewal application. (624.714, Subd. 2a)
When is a permit to carry not required?
- To keep or carry about the person’s place of business, dwelling house, premises or on land possessed by the person a pistol; To carry a pistol from a place of purchase to the person’s dwelling house or place of business, or from the person’s dwelling house or place of business to or from a place where repairing is done, to have the pistol repaired;
- To carry a pistol between the person’s dwelling house and place of business;
- To carry a pistol in the woods or fields or upon the waters of this state for the purpose of hunting or of target shooting in a safe area;
- To transport a pistol in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat if the pistol is unloaded, contained in a closed and fastened case, gun box, or securely tied package.
Where can I find a list of approved firearm training classes?
If I am a non-resident, must I take an approved firearms training class in Minnesota in order to get a Minnesota permit to carry?
Do members of the military need to take additional firearms training in order to apply for a permit to carry?
What is the cost for a permit to carry?
How long do I have to wait to get my permit?
How long is my permit valid?
Can I get an emergency permit to carry?
What would prevent me from getting a permit to carry?
Are predatory offenders prohibited from obtaining a permit to carry?
Where is my Minnesota permit valid?
Do I need to have my permit with me when carrying my pistol?
Do I have to disclose to a peace officer that I am a permit holder and carrying a firearm?
Do I need to notify the sheriff’s office when I move?
Do the address and/or my new driver’s license number on my permit to carry need to match the address and/or drivers license number on my driver’s license?
What do I do if my permit card is lost or destroyed?
If I have a permit to carry a pistol do I have to conceal the pistol?
If I have a permit to carry a pistol do I need to apply for a permit to purchase if I want to purchase a handgun?
Where am I prohibited from carrying my pistol?
The provisions of federal and state law that describe these prohibitions are found at:
Minnesota Statutes, section 243.55 Correctional Facilities, State Hospitals
Minnesota Statutes, section 609.66 Courthouses, State Capitol, Schools
Minnesota Statutes, section 624.714 Private Buildings Banning Firearms, Places of Employment, Private Homes, Universities may Ban Students, etc…
Minnesota Statutes, section 641.165 Jails or other Locked Facilities.
18 United States Code section 930 ANY Federal Owned Properties including hospitals, correctional facilities, military properties…
Can private establishments prohibit carrying pistols on their premises?
Can my landlord restrict me from carrying or possessing firearms on residence premises?
Can my employer prohibit carrying pistols in the work place?
Can I prohibit firearms in my private residence?
Can active licensed officers carry in private establishments?
Are there requirements for an out of state sworn Police Officer to carry in Minnesota?
What are the federal laws that govern retired officers carrying firearms?
If I am a resident of a state that does not have reciprocity with Minnesota but have a permit to carry from a state that does, may I carry in Minnesota?
If I am a permit holder from another state traveling in or visiting Minnesota and I do not have a permit to carry that is recognized by Minnesota, where can I legally store my firearm while in Minnesota?
How can I legally transport a firearm from one place to another without obtaining a permit to carry?
Is there a public list of gun permit holders, or can I obtain a list or call local law enforcement to find out individuals in my community who have a permit to carry?
Where can I find a list of out of state gun permits that Minnesota recognizes?
Where can I get a permit to purchase or transfer a gun?
When does my permit expire?
After my five-year permit to carry expires, do I need to retake the approved firearms training class before I apply for a renewal permit?
Where do I renew my permit?
When can I renew my permit?
What is the process for renewing my permit?
- Take an authorized firearms training class within one year prior to your renewal application.
- Deliver the application packet, not prior to 90 days of the expiration date of the current permit, in person to the Sheriff’s Department in the county where you currently reside, or for out of state permit holders, to any Sheriff’s Department in the State of Minnesota.
- The packet must contain a completed application, signed and dated with the renewal box checked and an accurate photocopy of the certificate of completed authorized firearms training. You must provide an accurate photocopy of a current drivers license, state identification card or the photo page of your passport (not a US citizen but permanent resident must present an I-551 or I-151 card).
Can you clarify the dates used on the permit to carry card?
Date format on all permits is: YYYYMMDD – four digit year followed by two digit month followed by two digit day . So, an expiration date of 20180101 would be January 01, 2018.
RECIPROCITY OF CONCEAL PERMITS
- Under Minnesota law, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) has been required since 2003 to publish a list of states which have handgun carry permit laws that are not substantially similar to Minnesota’s permit-to-carry law.
- During the 2015 legislative session, a law was passed that changed the phrase “substantially similar” to “similar”.
- Minnesota permit-to-carry law is M.S. 624.714. Subdivision 16 deals with “recognition of permits from other states.”
States with Laws NOT Similar to Minnesota (not valid in Minnesota)
|Hawaii||New Hampshire||West Virginia|
Out of State Permits Valid in Minnesota
|Idaho” (enhanced permit only)||New Jersey*||South Dakota* (enhanced permit only)|
|Kansas||North Dakota* (enhanced permit only)|||
|Kentucky||Ohio||*added in 2015|
Four states were removed from the 2014 list
- Missouri passed a law in 2014 to allow 19-year-old military personnel and veterans to obtain a permit. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21.
- Texas law allows 19-year-old military personnel and veterans to obtain a permit. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21.
- Wyoming law gives local sheriffs discretion to issue permits to 18-21-years-olds. Minnesota law does not allow issuing permits to anyone under 21. In addition Wyoming law does not require permit-holders to demonstrate shooting proficiency. Minnesota law requires training to include shooting proficiency.
- Utah law does not require permit-holders to demonstrate shooting proficiency. Minnesota law requires training to include shooting proficiency.